Character Guide

Unlike most of my walkthroughs, I’m starting this one out with a character guide. Why? The characters I described in the Lego Harry Potter games were easy to explain (“Strong Character,” “Dark Wizard,” etc.), whereas the Star Wars characters will be a little more detailed and difficult if you don’t thoroughly know the Star Wars universe. These are the most important and useful characters throughout the game; if any type of character isn’t mentioned, it means it’s not required for you to play as one to complete the game.

Types of Characters

Astromech Droids (or just Astromech), such as R2-D2, are a type of droid that can glide and disable other droids for a short period of time, but lack real weapons. They can also be used to unlock areas with an Astromech lock. (Astromech characters include R2-D2 and R4-P17.)

Bounty Hunters are a type of Grappler that have access to other abilities as well. Bounty Hunters have access to Thermal Detonators, which can destroy silvery-looking objects. They can also gain access to areas with green spots on the ground, and may be able to use a jetpack to fly. Zam Wesell, Jango Fett, Greedo, Boba Fett, Dengar, Bossk, 4-LOM, and IG-88 are the Bounty Hunters in the game.

Grappler Characters are distinguished by their ability to use red targets on the ground to grapple to other areas. Grappler characters usually have a gun as their weapon, but cannot be droids. Examples of grapplers are Queen Amidala and Captain Panaka, who are both unlocked very early in the game (Episode I, Chapter 3).

High Jumpers are exactly how their name sounds: they can jump higher than other characters and therefore reach areas others cannot. These types of characters include Jar Jar Binks, Captain Tarpals, General Grevious, and General Grevious’s bodyguard.

Imperials include Storm Troopers, Clone Troopers, officers, Darth Vader, and the Emperor. They have the ability to grapple and gain access to Imperial areas.

Jedi are the main characters in the game. You shouldn’t worry too much about them; you get them right from the start and will always get one in Free Play. Jedi use lightsabers as their weapon and are able to use the Force on objects that glow virtually any color but red.

Protocol Droids have virtually no abilities, other than to open Protocol Droid panels. Examples of these characters include C-3PO and TC-14. These, like Jedi, are available right from the start.

Sith are basically evil Jedi. They have all of the same powers as Jedi, but Sith can also use the Force on objects that glow red. There are four Sith in the game: Darth Vader, Darth Maul, Count Dooku, and the Emperor.

Short Characters can crawl through vents to reach otherwise inaccessible areas. Any character with the word “Boy” after their name is considered a Short Character, as are Jawas, Ewoks, and Ugnaughts.

Types of Fighters

Cablecrafts are vehicles with a tow cable– used to tow bombs to blow up areas.

TIE Fighters are used to gain access to TIE gates, which cannot otherwise be accessed.


About J

Musician, bookworm, gamer, and college student. I love to hear from you guys, so please comment and e-mail me whenever you like!

Posted on August 6, 2013, in Lego Star Wars: The Complete Saga, Other Guides (TCS). Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: